

#### **Contact Information**

Eric Ryer Administrator 1293 Washington Avenue Cedarburg, WI 53012 eryer@townofcedarburgwi.gov www.townofcedarburgwi.gov 262-377-4509

## **Town Board of Supervisors**

Dave Salvaggio, Chairman Wayne Pipkorn, Seat 1 Russ Lauer, Seat 2 Larry Lechner, Seat 3 Thomas Esser, Seat 4

### **FOR RELEASE July 7, 2025**

# **Town of Cedarburg Announces 2025 Landmarks Award Winners**

The Town of Cedarburg Landmarks Commission and Town Board proudly announce two winners of the 2025 Landmark Preservation Award. Two historic properties will receive this honor: 809 Granville Road (County Rd Y), owned by Dawn Kurz and Danielle Kurz; and 1219 County Rd I (Sheboygan Rd.), owned by Travis L. Keshemberg & Ellen Suelflow Revocable Trust.

The winners provided "before and after" photos, artwork, drawings and written histories of the properties, and an exterior tour. The Landmarks Commission commended the winners for the significant investments and thoughtful restorations they each made to preserve and enhance these single-family homes.

The Town Landmarks Commission Chair, Kari Esser, commented, "Built nearly 40 years apart, in different centuries, and in vastly different architectural styles, the two winners share a key common heritage: each was a rural homestead for a long-standing family farm. The Town's agricultural output has been a steady engine for over 176 years. The economic success of generations of dedicated Town agricultural workers meaningfully contributed to improved cultural, social, vocational, and educational opportunities for future generations throughout Cedarburg. Both winners exemplify forward thinking in the re-use of sustainable historic buildings with the benefit of modern technologies. This Award program originated with the shared belief that living among these renewed landmarks enhances the quality of life in the Town. Congratulations to both winners!"

Both winners will receive framed proclamations. In addition, this year the Town Landmarks Commission will hold an Open House at the Town Hall in late September. Each winner will be honored with a permanent bronze memorial plaque for their winning structure. The public is invited to attend to celebrate the winners along with the opportunity to learn more about historic preservation.

Members of the Town Landmarks Commission include Kari Esser, Chair, Cecily Bishop, Carol Boettcher, Ray Pecor, Tim Rasmussen, Lance Schaefer, and Eric Utz.

The Landmarks Commission plans to open applications for the 2026 Landmarks Preservation Award on Jan. 1, 2026. Interested parties may contact Sara Jacoby, Clerk/Asst. Admin. at Town Hall with any questions on the Landmark Award at 262-377-4509, or email <a href="mailto:sjacoby@townofcedarburgwi.gov">sjacoby@townofcedarburgwi.gov</a>.

#### Town of Cedarburg, Wisconsin

The Town of Cedarburg, which is home to Wisconsin's last covered bridge, strives to maintain its rural charm and high-quality of life while balancing growth and progress. The Town is located in Ozaukee County. For more information, visit <a href="https://www.townofcedarburgwi.gov">www.townofcedarburgwi.gov</a>